All Jharkhand Competitive Exam JSSC, JPSC, Current Affairs, SSC CGL, K-12, NEET-Medical (Botany+Zoology), CSIR-NET(Life Science)

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

Awards Given By Government of India- Current affairs-English

Awards Given By Government of India

Awards & Honours are given both at individual & group level as a token of appreciation or recognition for extraordinary work. The government of India gives several honors every year to those who have achieved outstanding merit in their field.

Bharat Ratna:

Fig: Bharat Ratna (Peepal leaf-shaped medal)

  • The title Bharat Ratna literally means "Jewel of India" & it is the highest civilian award bestowed by the Republic of India.
  • It was first given in 1954.
  • Although this award was originally given to those artists who had outstanding achievements in art, science, literature & public service, in 2011, the criteria were expanded to include "any field of human endeavor".
  • The Prime Minister of India makes the recommendations to the President of India who chooses not more than three people in a particular year for the award.
  • Although no money is given to the awardees, those who are chosen are given a peepal leaf-shaped medal & a certificate (sanad).
  • According to the Indian Order of Precedence, those who are given Bharat Ratna are seventh.
  • The award can not be used as a prefix or suffix to the recipients' name, in terms of Article 18(1) of the Indian Constitution.

Some of the prominent awardees are as follows:

1954: First Awardees
  • C. Rajagopalachari= Freedom fighter & last Governor-General of India.
  • Dr. C.V Raman= Physicist
  • Dr. S.Radhakrishnan= Philosopher as well as first Vice-President & second President of India.
  • Jawaharlal Nehru= Freedom fighter, writer & first Prime Minister of India.
  • Bhagwan Das= Freedom fighter, philosopher & educationist.
  • M.Visvesvaraya= Civil Engineer, Statesman, Diwan of Mysore.
  • Govind Ballabh Pant= Freedom fighter, Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh & Home Minister of India.
  • Bidhan Chandra Roy= Physician, politician & social worker.
  • Purushottam Das Tondon= Titled as "Rajarshi", an independent activist & politician.
  • Dr. Rajendra Prasad= Jurist, freedom fighter & first President of India.
1966: First Posthumous awardee
  • Lal Bahadur Shasti= Freedom fighter & second Prime Minister of India.
  • Indira Gandhi= Third Prime Minister of India.
  • Mother Teresa= Social worker, founder of Missionaries of Charity & a Catholic nun.
  • B.R. Ambedkar= Crusader against untouchability, Chief Architect of Indian Constitution.
  • Nelson Mandela= Gandhi of South Africa.
  • Dr. A.P.J.Abdul Kalam= Scientist & 11th President of India.
  • Prof. Amartya Sen= Economist.
  • Sachin Tendulkar= Cricketer.
  • C.N.R Rao= Chemist & Scientist.
  • Madan Mohan Malviya= Scholar & Educational Reformer.
  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee= Prime Minister of India for three times.
  • Pranab Mukherjee= 13th Prime Minister of India.
  • Bhupen Hazarika= Singer, Lyricist, Musician from Assam.
  • Nanaji Deshmukh= Social Activist.




Post a Comment

Unordered List

Search This Blog

Powered by Blogger.

About Me

My photo
Education marks proper humanity.

Text Widget

Featured Posts

Popular Posts

Blog Archive