All Jharkhand Competitive Exam JSSC, JPSC, Current Affairs, SSC CGL, K-12, NEET-Medical (Botany+Zoology), CSIR-NET(Life Science)

Thursday, September 2, 2021

Tamar Revolt (1782- 1820): JPSC/ JSSC/ PSC

Tamar Revolt (1782-1820)

Causes of Rebellion:

The revolt waged by the Munda tribesmen in the last quarter of the 18th century by making Tamar the main center of Chotanagpur is called the 'Tamar Rebellion'

The Company's policy of instigating outsiders and the atrocities of the Nagavanshi rulers were the root causes of this rebellion. The Munda tribals in Tamar were stricken by the tyranny of the Company government. The policies of the company paved the way for outsiders to come here and make them comfortable. On the other hand, they were feeling suffocated due to the tyranny and exploitation of the Nagavanshi rulers of Chotanagpur Khas.

Tamar Revolt (1782- 1820): JPSC/ JSSC/ PCS

Form of Rebellion:

1782: Gradually the rebels of Ramgarh, Panchet, and Birbhum started gathering in Tamar. They also started robbing the merchants. The Nagavanshi ruler attacked Tamar to suppress the rebels. This further fueled the rebellion. 

1782: The rebels also get the support of some landlords. Finally, Major James Crawford entered Tamar in December 1783 and forced the rebels to surrender. Peace prevailed in Tamar for the next five (5) years.

1789: The rebellion broke out again in Tamar. Under the leadership of Vishnu Manki and Mauji Manki, 3000 Mundas refused to pay taxes. Captain Hogan was sent to suppress the rebels, but he failed. After this, Lieutenant Cooper was sent. Cooper suppressed the rebels in early July 1789 AD. Tamar remained calm for the next four (4) years.

1794: In November, the rebellion broke out again in Tamar, which became difficult for the British to suppress.

1796: Raja Narendra Shahi of Rahe sided with the British. When the king and his soldiers went to Sonahatu, they were attacked by the villagers. When Captain B. Ben learns that the tribals are opposing Narendra Shahi, he is removed. In 1796, this rebellion took a widespread form. 

All tribals and zamindars of Tamar, Silli, Sonahatu and Rahe jumped into it. 

Prominent leaders of the rebels were;

  • Thakur Bholanath Singh - Tamar
  • Thakur Vishwanath Singh- Silli
  • Thakur Harinath Singh- Vishunpur
  • Thakur Shivnath Singh- Bundu
  • Ram Shahi Munda- Tribal leader
  • Thakur Das Munda- nephew of Ram Shahi Munda.

The relatives of Narendra Shahi of Rahe were killed, but Narendra Shahi himself managed to escape. 

1798: In April, Captain Lemond successes in capturing the major rebel leaders of Tamar. Bholanath Singh, the most powerful of the rebels, was arrested by Captain Ben. The Tamar rebellion spontaneously disintegrated after the arrested of the leaders.

Key Fact of Tamar Rebellion:

  • This rebellion started in 1782 against the exploitation of the landlords by the Oraon tribe of Chotanagpur, which lasted till 1794. This rebellion started under the leadership of Thakur Bholanath Singh. This is famous in history as the 'Tamar Rebellion'.
  • 1809: the British arranged a Zamindari police force to establish peace in Chotanagpur but to no avail. Because again in 1807, 1811, 1817, and 1820 the Munda and Oraon tribes raised their voice against the landlords and Dikus.
  • 1807: the Mundas revolted under the leadership of Dukh Manki of Tamar and in 1819-20, under the leadership of Rugu and Konta.

Tamar Revolt (1782- 1820)

Previous Page:Ghatwal Revolt (1772- 1773): JPSC/ JSSC/ PSC



Post a Comment

Unordered List

Search This Blog

Powered by Blogger.

About Me

My photo
Education marks proper humanity.

Text Widget

Featured Posts

Popular Posts

Blog Archive