All Jharkhand Competitive Exam JSSC, JPSC, Current Affairs, SSC CGL, K-12, NEET-Medical (Botany+Zoology), CSIR-NET(Life Science)

Thursday, September 9, 2021

Major Forts/ Historical Places of Jharkhand- JPSC/ JSSC/ PSC

Major Forts/Historical Places of Jharkhand

1. Palamu Fort, near Betla National Park: This fort is 5 km from Betla National Park in the Latehar district. It is situated on the distant Auranga River. It was built by the Cherovanshi rulers in their capital city Palamu. There are two (2) forts here- the old fort and the new fort. These two forts are jointly known as Palamu Fort. These two forts were considered impregnable in their time. There is no difference of many days between the construction of the old and new fort. 

  • Old Fort- it was built by the Cherovanshi ruler Pratap Rai (a contemporary of Mughal emperor Shah Jahan). 
  • New Fort- it was built by the  Cherovanshi ruler Medini Rai, 1658-74 AD (a contemporary of the Mughal emperor Aurangzeb).

The 'Nagpuri Darwaza' (Nagpuri Gate) of the new fort is visible due to its attractive architectural style. The height of the doo is 40 feet (12 m) and the width is 15 feet (4.5 m). The remains of 4 two-storeyed palaces, several temples, and one mosque have three domes and were built in 1661 AD by Dawood Khan, the then Mughal Subedar of Bihar, after the Palamu conquest.

Major Forts Historical Places of Jharkhand- JPSC JSSC PSC

2. Narayanpur Fort, Nawagarh (Latehar)This fort is 8 km from Latehar in the Latehar district located in far south Nawagarh. It was built by Jaj Das, the accountant of Cherovanshi ruler Bhagwat Rai.

3. Shahpur Chandani, Medininagar (Palamu)Actually, this is the name of a fort. It is situated in the Palamu district from Daltonganj to the west south bank of the Koel River. This fort was built by the Cherovanshi ruler Gopal Rai in 1772 AD.

4. Bishrampur Fort, Bishrampur (Palamu): This fort is built by the Cherovanshi ruler of Bishrampur. There is a temple near the fort. It took about 9 years to build the fort and the temple.

5. Chainpur Palace (Palamu): This palace is situated on the banks of the Koel river in Medininagar (former name-Daltonganj), the headquarter of the Palamu district. This palace was built by the descendants of the Rajput Diwan Pooranamal of the Chero king. 

6. Rohila Fort, Alinagar (Palamu): This fort is 10 km from Japla in Palamu district located away in Alinagar. Since this fort was built by Rohila Sardar Muzaffar Khan, hence it is known as 'Fort of Rohillas'. This fort is triangular in shape.

7. Kunda Fort, Kunda (Chatra): This fort is situated in Kunda of Chatra district. It was built by the Cherovanshi royal family.

8. Raj Bhavan of Nagfeni, Nagfenigaon (Gumla): This Raj Bhawan is located in Nagfeni village of Sisai police station in Gumla district. The construction of this Raj Bhawan started around 1704 AD but could not be completed. A king was building a palace here, but he died before the palace could be built. Although a picture of the king, his seven queens, and a dog is found on a stone here, the identity of this king has not yet been identified. A historian has described Nagfeni as the 'City of Serpants'.

9. Navratnaragh/ Doisagarh, Nagargram (Gumla): This palace is situated near Nagargram in the Gumla district. This palace was built by Nagvanshi king Durjanshal when his capital was Doisa. Based on historical evidence (like Ranchi, Gazetteer, etc.), this palace was originally five-storeyed, and each floor had 9 rooms. Now only 3 floors are left. Although there is a public opinion that this palace was 9 storeyed, out of which 6 floors got submerged in the ground. The center of special attraction of this palace is its 'treasury house'. The entire palace is surrounded by jagged walls in the Kangura style.

10. Tilma Fort, Tilma village (Khunti): This fort is located in the Tilma village of Karra block of Khunti district. This fort was built in 1737 AD by a Nagavanshi Thakur (feudal) named Akbar to attain salvation.

11. The Palace of Palkot, Palkot (Gumla): This palace is located in Palkot of Gumla district. Nagavanshi ruler Yadunath Shah (1715-24 AD) made Palkot his capital in place of Doisa and built many buildings here. One of these palaces remains the palace of Palkot and the rest has turned into ruins. This palace is considered important from an architectural point of view.

12. Ratu Palace, Ratu (Ranchi): This palace was built by Nagvanshi Maharaj Udai Pratap Nath Shahdeo in 1900. The Nagvanshi ruler shifted his capital from Palkot to Ranchi in 1870. The vastness of this palace is visible.

13. Kesnagarh Fort, Kesnagarh (West Singhbhum): This fort is situated at Kesnagarh, south-east of Chaibasa in Singhbhum district.

14. Jagannathpur Fort, Jagannathpur (West Singhbhum): This fort is 38 km from Chaibasa in West Singhbhum. It was built by Porhat king Jagannath Singh.

15. Jaintgarh Fort, Jaintgarh (West Singhbhum): This fort is 55 km from Chaibasa in West Singhbhum. It is situated in Jaintgarh on the bank of the Dakshin Vaitarni river. It was built by Porhat king Kala Arjun Singh.

16. Rajwadi of Chakradharpur, Chakradharpur (West Singhbhum): This Rajwadi is located in Chakradharpur of West Singhbhum. It was built by Narpati Singh (son of Raja Arjun Singh) during 1910-20 AD. This Rajwadi is built of bricks. The Rangmahal of this palace with a structure of three floors is famous for its beauty. Later it was sold by Shashank Manjari, daughter of Raja Narpati Singh.

17. Teliagarh Rajmahal Hill (Sahebganj): This history-famous fort is situated on Rajmahal hill, Sahebganj. It was called 'the entrance of Bengal'. The Sur ruler Sher Shah defeated the Sultan of Bengal Ghiyasuddin Mahmud here in 1535 AD. Now, this fort has become a ruin and only one wall is left on it.

18. Panchkot Fort, Panchet Pahar (Dhanbad): This fort is situated at a distance of 16 km from Barakar in the Dhanbad district. It is situated on the south-eastern slope of the distant Panchet mountain. It was built by Govanshi Naresh Gomukhi of Panchet. Due to being surrounded by five Kotas (walls), this fort was named 'Panchkot'.

19. Jharigarh Palace, Jharia (Dhanbad): This palace is located in the Dhanbad district. It was built by the Jharia king in his capital Jhariagarh. Jharia king has also built some palaces in his headquarters, Katrasgarh, whose remains are found.

20. Ramgarh Fort (Ramgarh): This fort is located in Ramgarh of Ramgarh district. It was built by Ramgarh Naresh Sabal Rai. The architecture of this fort is influenced by the Mughal style.

21. Badam Fort (Hazaribagh): This fort is 32 km from Hazaribagh town in Hazaribagh district. Nestled in the southwest is located in Badam. It was built by Ramgarh Naresh Hemant Singh in 1642 AD. Hemant Singh has also built a Shiva temple here.

22. Padma's Fort, Padma (Hazaribagh): This fort is situated on the banks of the National Highway (NH-33) in Hazaribagh district at a place called the Padma. It was built by the Maharaja of Padma. Currently, this fort has been made a Police Training Center by the State Government.

Previous Page: Gandhi Era and Jharkhand: Jharkhand History- JPSC/ JSSC/ PSC

Next Page:British Law in India before 1857 - JPSC/ JSSC/ PSC



Post a Comment

Unordered List

Search This Blog

Powered by Blogger.

About Me

My photo
Education marks proper humanity.

Text Widget

Featured Posts

Popular Posts

Blog Archive